Photographer Meets Detail

by Stacy

I can talk all day about my favorite wedding photographer Jose Villa. Couple him with leading wedding stylist Jill La Fleur and you have an unstoppable force in the wedding industry. I think every bride should take a look at Jose and Jill’s work before they begin their planning.

Read about the styled images above on Style Me Pretty.

There’s more to wedding photography than meets the eye.
People generally assume that a photograph is beautiful because of the photographer. While there is some truth to it, a photographer can only do so much with a bland subject. I learned this the hard way.

I started wedding photography by shooting budget, backyard weddings to build my portfolio. I shot for free, I shot for cheap, but ultimately produced few portfolio-worthy images. It’s not that image quality was bad – my clients were thrilled – but the images lacked detail that often appears in bridal blogs and magazines.

I eventually sought to work with two very fine wedding stylists, Couture Events and Amorology Weddings. They have appeared in almost every major bridal magazine and blog. It was a long shot, actually. I didn’t know if my budget wedding portfolio was enough to garner their attention, but it seemed they liked my portrait and fashion portfolio and, luckily, gave me a chance. I photographed inspiration shoots, where stylists put together imaginary weddings so they are free to choose all the style details – the gown, flowers, furniture, paper goods, etc.

Photographs from the Couture and Amorology both got accepted into wedding blogs, and one eventually made it into a local wedding magazine. (Few, if any, photographs from my early days are in my current wedding portfolio, and none were accepted by wedding blogs.)

Even if a coordinator/stylist is not financially feasible, brides looking for great wedding photography should consider details that are photographed often during the wedding. Even within the four photographs above, it still looks like a big fancy wedding.

